February the 14th 

So with the big V day coming up and a two hour wait until my flight from Paris I thought it would be a good time to write about relationships and that.

I want to start by saying I am not a mushy lovey dovey type and I am by no means an expert on relationships but I have my opinion like everyone so here’s my thoughts on what I find important in the era we live in (in no particular order)

1. Age 

The amount of time I hear omg you’ve been together 7 years? When are you going to get married?!

There is no age limit, just because your grandparents got married at like 12 (exaggerating but whatever) doesn’t mean you have to. There’s no race!! If you’re single at 35 don’t panic – you’re probably only half way through life for starters and secondly who cares?! As long as you’re happy!

I for one want to get married when I can afford to do it properly. I know marriage isn’t about a fancy ceromony and my grandparents would say “the more expensive the wedding the shorter the marriage” blah blah blah. I only plan on doing it once and to the most important person in my life so therefore I want to do it properly – who’s with me?

2. Understanding 

Life isn’t like the fairytales and mr perfect probably doesn’t exist – well not by everyone’s standards anyway.

Perfect is what works for you! Stop listening to everyone else.

People are going to make mistakes and annoy you – they may ditch you every now and then for their mates or not call you all day but it’s not the end of the world. So chill out and understand we are only human.

3. Social Media 

Okay so I am probably the worst for this one and anyone who knows me will see me delete insta for a while and it has helped me a fair bit.

Social media can be a killer, a soul destroyer, relationship ender and bring out the crazy in you.

Stop stalking!! Stop worrying what they like, who they talk to and their latest follower or friend request.

They’re with you and that means something. If they’re cheating you’ll find out, don’t worry. Sending yourself crazy only brings insecurity and damages trust.

If something obvious comes up then yeah say something don’t be a wimp.

4. Friends 

No matter how old your are, what job you have or how long you’ve been together you always need friends and I don’t mean couple friends – I mean real true friends.

There is nothing I cherish more than a night in, dinner out, drinks, spa weekends or even trips away with the girls.

Having those chats with someone that makes you realise you’re not crazy or having a laugh and doing the things you love with someone other than your boyfriend/girlfriend is so so so important. It’s important for them too so when they want to see their mates and don’t invite you. Stop crying about it and just go out yourself too!

5. Strength 

Okay this sounds quite deep but I think a relationship does require strength.

Through life there are constant changes which can be blooming hard. You’ll always find people who critise and try to make you question everything but only you two know what’s real and you seriously need to block them out.

I’m not saying don’t listen, sometimes you can be caught up in it you don’t see what’s right in front of you but don’t let them influence you.

6. Don’t lose yourself 

There’s nothing worse than a mate suddenly becoming a complete nob or doing things they swore they would never do just to impress their new mr or mrs.

7. Don’t be afraid to be single.

I know it can seem daunting and I can’t think of anything worse than being without my man ❤️ but you’ll be okay. Everything happens for a reason.

If you’re currently single then don’t rush. You’ll find someone when the time is right. There’s no point in wasting time with the wrong person just for a status…

8. Support

Be there for each other even when shit gets tough. I can’t stress this enough

9. Laugh 

I don’t think I really need to explain this one 😂

10. Money

You don’t need fancy dinners and constant holidays to prove your love. Enjoy your time together – even if it’s spending a weekend in together alone. There is nothing more powerful than that ❤️

Okay I don’t want to drag this out any longer… I could probably go on for hours. 

Basically just learn to love yourself and chill 💋

cute

Cat x

Leave a Reply

